Posted at 07/10/2017 by abirdadmin on category Bird Facts, Birds

Woodpeckers are active and industrious birds. With their sturdy pointed beaks and reinforced skulls, they are uniquely suited to drilling in to trees for food and for hollowing out safe and secure nests in which to raise their young.

Types of woodpeckers: There are perhaps 200 different species of woodpeckers, including –

  • True woodpeckers
  • Piculets
  • Sapsuckers
  • Wrynecks

Geographic Range: Woodpeckers live through out much of the world, preferring forested areas, although some species are comfortable in desert climates where they may nest in palm trees and cacti. They are not typically, however, found in Australia, Madagascar and Antarctica.

Length: The slaty woodpecker is the largest of the woodpeckers. They can reach a length of over 20 inches (50 cm). The smallest woodpeckers tend to be the piculets; the rufous piculet is only 3 to 4 inches long (8 to 10 cm).

Weight: The slaty woodpecker can weigh 12 to 20 ounces (360 – 563 g). Small piculets may weigh only 0.25 ounces (7 g).

Food: Woodpeckers primarily eat insects and grubs dug from live or decaying trees but may also eat fruit, seeds, nuts and sap.

More Great Woodpecker Stuff:

Woodpecker Videos

Related Posts to Woodpecker

Comments are closed.