Posted at 03/30/2017 by abirdadmin on category Bird Facts, Birds

Ravens are one of the most intelligent bird species. Curious and playful, they are readily recognized by their glossy black feathers, thick beak and the “caw” call that they make.

Types of ravens:  There are nine species of ravens –

  • White-necked raven
  • Common raven
  • Australian raven
  • Thick-billed raven
  • Chihuahuan raven
  • Little raven
  • Fan-tailed raven
  • Brown-necked raven
  • Forest raven

Geographic Range:  Ravens live well in all types of climates and are found through the world, except in Antarctica.

Length: The common and thick-billed ravens are the largest of the ravens. They can reach a length of 26 inches (67 cm).  The smaller ravens, like the Chihuahuan and little raven, are up to 20 inches (51 cm).

Weight:  The larger ravens typically weigh around 1.5 pounds (0.69 kg) but may reach up to 4 pounds (1.8 kg). Smaller ravens are around 1 pound (.45 kg).

Food:  Ravens are very opportunistic eaters. They are omnivorous, eating berries, seeds, insects, eggs, fruit, small reptiles and mammals. They will also scavenge human food waste if available.

More Great Raven Stuff:

Raven Videos

Related Posts to Raven

Comments are closed.