Posted at 05/05/2014 by abirdadmin on category Bird Facts, Birds

owlcover3dOwls are strong and stealthy hunting birds. Owls have very sharp eyesight that’s good for low light situations like twilight time and moonlit nights.

Types of Owls:  Owls have two major species — Barn owls and True Owls — with over 200 individual types of owls.

Geographic Range: Owls are found through the world, except for Antarctica. Some owls, like the Snowy Owl are migratory and change location for summer and winter seasons.  Other owls maintain their territory year-round.

Length: The largest owl is the Great Grey Owl which may measure 24 to 33 inches (61 to 84 cm). On the small side, the Elf owl is only 5 to 12 inches (13 to 30 cm) and Northern Pygmy Owl is between 6 and 7 inches (16 and 18 cm).

Wingspan: The Eagle Owl has a wingspan of 63 to 79 inches (160 to 200 cm) and Blakiston’s Fish Owl has a wingspan of (180 to 200 cm). The Elf Owl has an average wingspan of about 10-1/2 inches (27 cm).

Weight:  Blakiston’s Fish Owl weighs 7.4 to 10.1 lbs (3.36 to 4.6 kg) while the Eagle owl weighs from 3.9 to 9.3 lbs (1.75 to 4.2 kg).  The females are larger and heavier than the males. For the Elf Owl, average weight for males is 5.85 oz (166 g) and
Females 6.84 oz (194 g) for females.

Food: Owls vary greatly in size but all are of the raptor family. This means that, depending on their size, they will catch everything from insects, small reptiles and mammals, including bats, and other birds.

More Great Owl Stuff:

Owl Videos

Related Posts to Owl

Comments are closed.