Posted at 08/30/2015 by abirdadmin on category Bird Facts, Birds

cranecover3dCranes are tall, elegant birds that live near wetlands, lakes and rivers. Cranes like the sarus crane are the tallest birds that fly.

Types of Cranes: There are fifteen types of cranes divided into four groups:

  • Black-crowned and Grey-crowned (called crowned cranes)
  • Common or Eurasian, Sandhill, Whooping, Sarus, Brolga, Siberian, White-naped, Hooded, Black-necked, and Red-crowned or Japanese
  • Demoiselle and Blue
  • Wattled

Geographic Range: Cranes can be found in every country except in South America and Antarctica.

Length: Adult cranes are from 2.5–6.0 feet (.76–1.8 m) tall. The demoiselle crane is the shortest.

Wings: Cranes have large wings measuring from 5 to 10 feet (1.5 – 3 m) from wingtip to wingtip. Some cranes migrate with the seasons.

Weight: Adult cranes can weigh from 4 to 18 lbs ( 2 – 7.8 kg ).

Food: Cranes eat a variety of food including plants, fish, eels, crabs, shrimp, small reptiles, and insects.

More Great Crane Stuff:

Crane Videos

Related Posts to Crane

Comments are closed.