Penguin: A Bird Book for Kids

Quick Penguin Facts
 Penguins are incredibly durable, flightless birds,  able to survive extremely cold temperatures and fierce winter storms.  With their streamlined shape and rigid wings, distinctively colored  black and white feathers, and special layers of fat, penguins are  skilled swimmers, spending much of their time in the frigid waters  around the Antarctic seas.
Types of penguins:  There are five major groups of penguins with a total of around 20 species  –
  • Great Penguins
  • Brush-tailed Penguins
  • Little Penguins
  • Banded Penguins
  • Crested Penguins
Geographic Range:  Penguins flourish in waters and  islands around Antarctica but may be found along the southern coasts of  South America and Africa. Only the Galapagos penguins live up near the  equator on the Galapagos Islands where very cold water comes up from the  depths of the Pacific Ocean.
Length: The emperor penguin is the largest of the  penguins. They can reach a height of 48 inches (122 cm).  The smallest  penguin is the little blue penguin which is only 13 inches (33  centimeters) tall.
Weight:  The emperor penguin can weigh up to 99 lbs (45 kg). The little blue penguin weighs just over 3 pounds (1.5 kilograms).
Food:  Penguins eat seafood, primarily krill and other small crustaceans, small fish, squid and octopus.

Enjoy these Penguin videos from YouTube

Penguins of the Antarctic - Nature Documentary

Best Funny Penguin Videos

All About Penguins for kids

Cool Cute Chicks | Amazing Animal Babies