Falcon: A Bird Book for Kids

Quick Falcon Facts
 Falcons are strong efficient hunting birds. With  very sharp eyes, falcons hunt from the air, looking down at small  animals on the ground or at birds flying beneath them.
Types of Falcons:  Falcons are one species within  the Raptor family called Falco. Some are called falcons, like the  Peregrine Falcon, while others include Kestrels and Hobbys. Other  raptors related to falcons include Hawks, Owls, and Eagles.
Geographic Range: Falcons are found through the  world, except for Antarctica. Some falcons are migratory, changing  location for summer and winter seasons, while others maintain their  territory year-round.
Length: The largest falcon, called a Gyrfalcon,  ranges in length from 51 to 65 centimeters (20 – 26 inches ). The  smallest falcon in the Falco family, is the American Kestrel. An adult  American Kestrel may be 19 to 21 cm ( 7 – 8 in ) in length. Mature  female falcons are almost always bigger and heavier than a mature male  falcon of the same type.
Wingspan: The Gyrfalcon has a wingspan measuring 124  to 160 cm ( 49 to 64 in ) in length while the American Kestrel wingspan  is 50 to 61 cm ( 20 – 24 in ).
Weight: The American Kestrel weighs 100 to 120 g ( 3.5–4.2 oz ), while the Gyrfalcon weighs from 1180 to 2100 g (2.6 to 4.6 lbs).
Food: Falcons are hunters and will catch small  reptiles and mammals, including bats, but also hunt other birds, such as  pigeons,  ducks and songbirds. Smaller kestrels, which are part of the  falcon family, may prefer to eat insects but will also catch small  mammals when there are fewer insects, for example during winter months.

Enjoy these Falcon videos from YouTube

High-Velocity Falcon  | National Geographic Channel

Peregrine Falcon with KPBS San Diego

Flying with the fastest birds on the planet with BBC Worldwide