Crane: A Bird Book for Kids

Quick Crane Facts
Cranes are tall, elegant birds that live near wetlands, lakes and rivers. Cranes like the sarus crane are the tallest birds that fly.
Types of Cranes: There are fifteen types of cranes divided into four groups:
  • Black-crowned and Grey-crowned (called crowned cranes)
  • Common or Eurasian, Sandhill, Whooping, Sarus, Brolga, Siberian, White-naped, Hooded, Black-necked, and Red-crowned or Japanese
  • Demoiselle and Blue
  • Wattled
Geographic Range: Cranes can be found in every country except in South America and Antarctica.
Length: Adult cranes are from 2.5–6.0 feet (.76–1.8 m) tall. The demoiselle crane is the shortest.
Wings: Cranes have large wings measuring from 5 to 10 feet (1.5 – 3 m) from wingtip to wingtip. Some cranes migrate with the seasons.
Weight: Adult cranes can weigh from 4 to 18 lbs ( 2 – 7.8 kg ).
Food: Cranes eat a variety of food including plants, fish, eels, crabs, shrimp, small reptiles, and insects.

Enjoy these Crane videos from YouTube

A Japanese Crane dance

Demoiselle Crane or Mongolian Common Crane

Flight to Survive: Saving Whooping Cranes

Origami: Crane (tutorial)