Condor: A Bird Book for Kids

Quick Condor Facts
Condors are considered to be raptors or birds of  prey, although condors only eat carrion. By eating carrion, condors help  to recycle the dead animals, allowing smaller vultures and animals to  eat, reducing disease and returning nutrients to the soil.
Types of Condors: There are only two species of  Condors living – the Andean Condor and the California Condor. The  California Condor is on the critically endangered species list.
Geographic Range: Andean Condors live in South  America up and down the Andean Mountains, from Ecuador to Chile.  California Condors live in California, Utah, Arizona and Baja  California.
Length: Adult California Condors are from 43 to 55  in. (109 to 140 cm) while the Andean Condors are 39 to 51 in. (100 to  130 cm) in length. For condors, unlike most other raptors, the males are  generally larger than the females.
Wingspan: Adult California Condor wingspan reaches  from 8 ft 2 in. to 9 ft 9 in. (249 to 300 cm) while the Andean Condors  are 8 ft 10 in to 10 ft 6 in (270 to 320 cm).
Weight:  Adult California Condors weigh from 15 to 31 lbs. (7 to 14.1 kg) while the Andean Condors are 24 to 33 lbs. (11 to 15 kg).
Food: Condors are carrion eaters that typically look  for larger dead animals that can be seen from the air, such as cattle,  deer, sheep, etc., but will eat smaller animals including sea lions and  fish if they can be found.

Enjoy these condor videos from YouTube

Meet the world's biggest flying bird, the Andean Condor

Flying giants–rare California condors return to Utah skies

Wild California Condors Made Here

First California Condor Chick of the Season